Who We Are

This page lists the people who have contributed and/or are actively involved with the manifesto and the work surrounding it. Please get in touch.

Dr. Sedef Akinli Kocak
S. Akinli Kocak PhotoSedef Akinli Kocak  is a Project Manager at Vector Institute for Artificial Intelligence., Canada. Her research focuses on sustainability of software systems especially in the area of sustainability in requirements engineering and software qualities and decision making in green software development.


Dr. Christoph Becker
C. Becker PhotoChristoph Becker  is an Associate Professor at the University of Toronto, where he leads the Digital Curation Institute. His research focuses on the long-term concerns of sustainability – the capacity to endure – that arise in the design of software-intensive information systems. He examines requirements analysis and design methods in practice to identify leverage points for sustainability interventions.

Twitter  LinkedIn

Dr. Stefanie Betz
S. Betz PhotoStefanie Betz  is a Professor at Hochschule Furtwangen University Furtwangen, Germany. Her research focuses on sustainability in software systems engineering, especially from the perspective of modelling and analysing sustainability aspects in processes and systems.

Professor Coral Calero
C. Calero PhotoCoral Calero  is a Professor at the University of Castilla-La Mancha in Spain and a member of the Alarcos Research Group. Her research interests include: software quality, software quality models, software measurement, Web and portal quality, data quality and software sustainability definition, evaluation, measurement and assessment. She is also interested on skills management and emotional intelligence and how to improve software development and teams management through its application.

Dr. Ruzanna Chitchyan
R. Chitchyan PhotoRuzanna Chitchyan  is a Senior Lecturer in Software Engineering at the Department of Computer Science, University of Bristol, UK and an EPSRC fellow on Living with Environmental Change. She works on software and requirements engineering for sustainability, with a particular focus on energy systems re-engineering.

Twitter LinkedIn

Dr. Leticia Duboc
L. Duboc PhotoLeticia Duboc  is a researcher at La Salle, Ramom Llull University, and an Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Birmingham, UK. Her research focus on sustainability of software systems, particularly from the perspective of requirements engineering and early analysis of software qualities.


Professor Steve Easterbrook
S. Easterbrook PhotoSteve Easterbrook  is a Professor at the University of Toronto and a member of Centre for Environment and Centre for Global Change Science. His research focuses on climate informatics, and more specifically, the applications of computer science and software engineering to the challenge posed by global climate change.


Martin Mahaux
M. Mahaux PhotoMartin Mahaux  is a PhD researcher at the University of Namur, Belgium. His research focuses on creativity and collaboration in sustainable development and sustainable innovation.

Twitter LinkedIn

Dr. Birgit Penzenstadler

B. Penzenstadler PhotoBirgit Penzenstadler  is an Assistant Professor at Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden and an Adjunct Professor at Lappeenranta University of Technology. Her research focuses on supporting sustainability throughout software engineering, especially from within requirements engineering and quality assurance, and developing software systems for sustainability.

Twitter  LinkedIn

Dr. Guillermo Rodriguez-Navas
G. Rodriguez-Navas PhotoGuillermo Rodriguez-Navas  is a senior lecturer of the Embedded Systems division, Mälardalen University, Sweden. His research focuses on the dependability and safety aspects of complex embedded systems, with special emphasis on the application of formal verification techniques for the analysis of such systems.

Professor Camille Salinesi
C. Salinesi Kocak PhotoCamille Salinesi is Professor of computer science and head of the Informatics Research Centre at Université Paris 1 Panthéon – Sorbonne. He has numerous research interests, all in relationship with Requirements Engineering: requirements specification, reuse, analysis and verification, and domain-specific requirements engineering, including requirements engineering for sustainable systems.


Dr. Norbert Seyff
N. Seyff PhotoNorbert Seyff  is a Professor at the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland and a senior research associate at the University of Zurich. His current research focus on requirements engineering and software modeling. He has a particular interest in empowering and supporting end-users participation in system development.

Dr. Colin C. Venters
C. Venters PhotoColin C. Venters is a Reader in Software Engineering at the University of Huddersfield, UK. His current research focuses on sustainable software systems engineering from a software architecture perspective for pre-system understanding and post-system maintenance and evolution.


Dr. Ola Leifler
Ola Leifler is an Associate Professor at Linköping University where he is teaching in Learning for Sustainability for university teachers and teaching courses that integrate sustainability with ethics and computer science. He has a strong interest in supporting higher education teachers to transition towards fostering strategic competencies for sustainability as their main goal. He has a background in AI and decision support.

Professor Jari Porras

Jari Porras is a Professor at the Lappeenranta-Lahti University of Technology LUT, Finland. His research focuses on software solutions for sustainability in various application domains and especially evaluation
of the impacts of these solutions.

Logo design by mad studios.
Website administration by Dawn Walker.

Part of this work was supported by the Vienna Science and Technology Fund (WWTF) through the project BenchmarkDP (ICT2012-046), by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft under project EnviroSiSE (grant PE 2044/1-1), by FAPERJ (No 41/2013), by CNPQ (No 14/2014), by NSERC (RGPIN-2014-06638), by the European Social Fund and by the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts Baden-Württemberg.